The New York native and cycling enthusiast who inSPIRE's our team is Cristina! Join Cristina for class Monday mornings at 5:45 a.m.

Tell us about yourself. Where are you from?

I am originally from Long Island and have lived there for most of my life. I attended school in Pennsylvania, where I studied sign language interpreting. Afterward, I decided to attend graduate school for education and started teaching American Sign Language as a second language in high schools. While teaching in New York, I was also nannying and teaching cycling classes!

So, what brings you to Milwaukee?

In August, I married my husband Matt, who is originally from Madison. We decided we wanted to build a life outside of New York City, so moving closer to (his) home seemed like the right thing to do. As of now, I am nannying, teaching cycling classes and taking time to figure out what I want to do next.

How long have you been an instructor?

I instructed road based rides in New York for two years. Before instructing, I had been participating in cycling classes for a while. I really enjoyed taking the classes and was encouraged by the other instructors to get certified!

What can we expect from your classes?

High-energy training, hard hill climbs, lots of Tabata sprints and most importantly, that the class is driven by music. I typically use electric dance music, hard rock and of course, top 40 hits!

What is the best part about being an instructor?

Definitely inspiring others to get certified. During my teaching in New York, five of my cyclers became certified. I'm all about spreading the cycling love.

What is your favorite post-workout snack?

I've perfected a blueberry, spinach protein smoothie. It is without fail my go to snack!


Though you are new to the area, do you have any favorite MKE spots?

Foodwise, Balzac off of Brady is great. My husband and I have really enjoyed exploring the different parks in Milwaukee lately. The other day we tried The Public Market and loved it.

Who inspires you?

My grandma. She was a war bride and came over to the United States from Italy when she was 18. She didn’t know anyone, nor did she speak English, but she made a life for herself in America. Before moving to Milwaukee, she told me "If I can come to the United States from Italy, then you can move to Wisconsin!" 

What is your Life mantra?

"We can do hard things." What I love is that this is true in workouts and life alike.

If you could retire tomorrow, what would you do?

Travel. I would love to go to Italy (again), Fiji, or Australia. Probably all three and more!